Welcome to the official site of the International 470 Class Association
Tender One

30 May 2010

Victory to GBR and ITA in Holland

On Saturday 29 May, the 2010 Delta Lloyd Regatta crowned the first three champions in Medemblik, including the 470 Men and Women. The British team of Nic Asher and Elliot Willis won the 470 men series after a nerve-racking Medal Race. The Italian sailors Giulia Conti and Giovanna Micol finished their mission successfully to win the 470 Women event.

The 470 Men Medal Race started as planned at 1800 hours with light wind and drizzle. In fourth overall, the Croatians Sime Fantela and Igor Marenic were the ones who had the most to gain despite an 11 points deficit from the third placed Lucas Calabrese and Juan de la Fuente (ARG). The Croatians started well and reached the top mark in front. The boats split on the downwind to get more breeze. The Croatians increased their lead on the second upwind followed by the Australians, Swedish and overall leaders Nic Asher and Elliot Willis. The third beat saw some upset when the Israelis and the two French who went hard right, sneaked in between the Australians (second behind CRO) and the Brits who at this stage had lost the lead of the regatta to the Australians. Gidon Kliger and Eran Sela (ISR) got closer to pass the Australians and the Croats over the finish line. With the Israeli now in front, Asher and Willis regained their lead to win the event. The Croatian second in the Medal race took third behind the Australians. “The conditions were very tricky but we have a good speed which helped a lot,” said Asher, “It surely was the most exciting race of the week, but very nerve-racking!”

The French 470 sailors dominated the Medal race, with Emmanuelle Rol and Helene de France claiming victory. However, once again, the fourth placed team going into the medal race made the most of the opportunities and Ingrid Petitjean and Nadege Douroux (FRA) who were fourth this morning, placed second behind Emmanuelle Rol and Helene de France (FRA) to take the Bronze medal. Giulia Conti and Giovanna Micol (ITA) and World Champions Lisa Westerhof/Lobke Berkhout (NED) managed to retain their positions going into the Medal Race to finish in gold and silver position respectively.

Watch the live tracking of the Men's Medal Race and Women's Medal Race.

More Information:
Event Website
470 Men Results
470 Women Results
ISAF Sailing World Cup

Image: Giulia Conti and Giovanna Micol (ITA) claim the Gold Medal at the 2010 Holland Regatta © Sander van der Borch