Welcome to the official site of the International 470 Class Association
  • Photos
  • Videos
470 General Event News


04 Apr 2015

The medal races on Saturday 4 April 2015 concluded the 46th edition of the Trofeo Sofia IBEROSTAR and decided the winners of the Olympic events.

This news belongs to
2015 Trofeo Princesa Sofia
Aleh/Powrie add their name to the illustrious list of sailors who have won the overall Trofeo

Jo Aleh/Polly Powrie (NZL) successfully defended their title in the 470 Women, with complete command and proved once more they deserve their world #1 status! The Olympic Gold medallists were also awarded the prestigious Trofeo by Her Majesty Queen Sofia, marking their success as the best overall team of the week.

Camille Lecointre/Helene Defrance (FRA) won the medal race to close the gap to 3 pointsand look to threaten the Kiwi's supremacy during the medal race. The French took Silver, with Bronze going to Hannah Mills/Saskia Clark (GBR). 

Lucas Calabrese/Juan de la Fuente (ARG) are back in force after an eight month break from 470 Men competition. The Argentinians played it well all week, making the most of their combined experience to overcome their absence. "We had many days with shifty conditions and that suited us well. We could make gains on the fleet by sailing smart. It is great for our confidence to see that we are still competitive despite our forced retirement from competition."

On the shore, the multiple Olympic medallists were warmly greated by the other 470 teams obviously happy to see their worthy Argentinian opponents back in shape! Luke Patience/Elliott Willis (GBR) took Silver in front of Johan Molund/Sebastian Östling (SWE) who settled for Bronze.

Trofeo Princesa Sofia on social media ....

Related news

see all