Welcome to the official site of the International 470 Class Association
Tender One
  • Photos
470 General News


21 Mar 2019

Registration is still open and the Mallorca Olympic Classes regatta has over 850 boats entered in the event. Nine out of the ten current Olympic World champions will compete in Mallorca.

This news belongs to
2019 Trofeo S.A.R. Princesa Sofia Iberostar

113 entries so far (44 Women, 69 Men) for 470 class.

The top World sailors have confirmed their participation in the Trofeo SAR Princesa Sofía Iberostar 50th anniversary. The Olympic classes Mallorca regatta, to be held from 29th March to 6th April in the bay of Palma, will gather together over 850 boats and 1200 sailors from 68 nations in the first major event of the European circuit. The ORC and one design event will have a participation of around 50 to 70 boats. With the official entry deadline in a few days, it is expected to be a landmark edition.

In 470 men, a close battle is expected to be seen with French team Kevin Peponnet and Mion Peremie as rivals to be beaten as current class World campions. Teams such as Mat Belcher and Will Ryan from Australia – the current Sofia Iberostar absolute winners – or Spanish sailors Jordi Xammar and Nicolás Rodríguez, bronze medallists at the Aarhus 2018 World Sailing Championships, are also firm candidates to claim victory in the class.

The three teams on the podium at the last 470 women World championship will race at the Sofía Iberostar. Ai Kondo and Miho Yoshikoa from Japan, Silvia Mas and Patricia Cantero from Spain and British team Hannah Mills and Eilidh McIntyre will attract all attention in their battle for the title in Mallorca.

The Sofía Iberostar, organised by Club Nàutic S’Arenal, Club Marítimo San Antonio de la Playa, Real Club Náutico de Palma and the Balearic and Spanish Sailing federations, is the first main event of the European Olympic season. Racing will start on 29th March for ORC and one design classes while racing for Olympic classes will kick off on 1st April in the bay of Palma. Racing is scheduled until Saturday 6th April, the final day in which the top sailors in each class will sail the medal races to decide the winners in each category as well as the 50 Trofeo S.A.R. Princesa Sofía Iberostar absolute winner.

Entry list